Homesteading Life… and Death

So the other day I had to shoot and kill two possums that were getting into our chicken feed. I hate killing animals in general, but not so much that I am ready to give up eating meat or will hesitate to defend my animals from predators. In any case those possums are prime candidates for chicken killers, and I was not about to let them get used to hanging around our barn.

That is why I am so perplexed as to what got into our chicken tractor and killed EVERYTHING last night… So far the prime candidate is a weasel because we have heard that they might kill for sport. I just can’t think of any other animal besides a dog that would wantonly kill 21 animals when it obviously wasn’t hungry anymore. In any case the hunt is on for the perpetrator of what I am now calling the Great Chicken Massacre of ’17.

Leave a Reply

