In the Bones

So apparently bone broth is all the rage these days in health and fitness news. I guess kale was really hip for a while there too, but I don’t know if it is slipping in popularity lately. I have been eating kale pretty regularly for a while now, but never raw. It is absolutely disgusting raw- like chewing on wet construction paper only I imagine that construction paper would be easier to chew than raw kale. No, you have to bake it into kale chips or put it in a blender with better tasting things like bananas and almond milk and such. Kale is delicious in these non-raw forms. Otherwise I wouldn’t bother attempting to eat it.

But I digress, this post is about Bone Broth and all of the magical goodness inside the bones of animals that you normally throw out. Now if you are super hip you can buy bone broth in all kinds of ridiculous forms from organic and health food stores, or you can do it yourself from the bones of the roasts or chickens that you and your family eat on a weekly basis. Now I have to give 100% of the credit for making bone broth to my wife, because she did all the work and I got to enjoy the end result. But why in the world would you want to eat/drink bone broth? Apparently it is downright magical and can heal leaky gut, make your skin clearer, heal joint pain, and lots of other things.

This link has some good info on the whys/hows of bone broth:

http://nourishedkitchen.com/bone-broth/

All I know is that it tastes good, and makes you feel good. I highly recommend giving it a try. We made our bone broth from bones we got through our CSA: http://southernridgefarm.com/#top

Leave a Reply

