Voodoo Ranger Beer Review

I was pleasantly surprised when I was filling up my truck with non-ethanol gas at Nick and Bubba’s Beer, Bait, and ‘Baccer the other day. They have the best variety of micro-brews here in the local area around Hohenwald, and usually I go for Sierra Nevada’s Pale Ale, but then I spied a couple of offerings from New Belgium Brewing on the bottom shelf. Including their flagship Fat Tire and one I had never seen or heard of before: Voodoo Ranger.

I snapped it up immediately! I don’t often get a chance out here in the sticks to try something new and I was quite frankly taken aback that they bothered to carry such a decent selection out here. I think that Voodoo Ranger is a specialty variation of NB’s other big seller, Ranger IPA. Ranger IPA is hoppy. REALLY hoppy. I love it, but I have to be in the mood for it. If you don’t like the bitter, piney, citrus-ey sting of good hops, you will not like either one of these beers. So here’s what the label says about Voodoo Ranger:

rangerlabel

Well, they ain’t lying. There is definitely a fruity burst with the bitter hops on the nose when you first sip it, but unlike Ranger IPA, Voodoo Ranger has a much smoother finish. Ranger is good, don’t get me wrong, but the piney hops are so strong that it pushes to a harsher, more bitter finish than Voodoo. So if you like IPA’s you will definitely like Voodoo Ranger for the novelty of something familiar with a new twist, or if you are not that into IPA’s you might want to give Voodoo a try to see if it’s smoother finish can win you over.

If you don’t know anything about beers, IPA stands for India Pale Ale. IPA’s are known for their heavy use of Hops, first used as a preservative before refrigeration when the British were sailing beer from the home country all the way to India for their troops to drink, and they needed something that would keep on the long journey and in tropical weather. For even more information check out this link:

http://allaboutbeer.com/learn/beer/hops/

 

Leave a Reply

